My Top 25 Beach/Poolside Reads to Make Your Summer Sizzle

25 Beach/Poolside Reads to Make Your Summer Sizzle

Ah, summer. The season of sun, sand, and…a really good book. Who doesn’t love good beach or poolside reads?

Whether you’re lounging by the pool, escaping the heat in a hammock, or jetting off to an exotic locale, a captivating beach read is the perfect companion.

Here are 25 books across various genres that promise to keep you entertained all summer long.

my top 25 beach/poolside reads to make your summer sizzle

25 Beach and Poolside Reads to Make Your Summer Sizzle. 25 books across various genres that promise to keep you entertained all summer.

Beach or Poolside Reads

  • Funny Story: It’s no secret that I’m not a huge Emily Henry fan. Funny Story changed things for me though. She totally redeemed herself with this sweet story. Get ready for a laugh-out-loud romantic comedy that’s as heartwarming as it is hilarious.
  • This Summer Will Be Different:  I have this one in my TBR stack for summer! A story of self-discovery and second chances, perfect for anyone who’s ever dreamed of a summer fling turning into something more.
  • People We Meet on Vacation: This one is cute, and predictable. Two best friends, one unforgettable trip, and a romance that’s been years in the making.
  • Every Summer After: This is a classic summer story that we can all relate to. A nostalgic look at a decades-long friendship and the summers that shaped it, with a touch of romance that will tug at your heartstrings.
  • Same Time Next Summer: Another one in my TBR for the summer! A charming tale of young love, summer reunions, and the choices that define us.
  • Just for the Summer: Abby Jimenez is one of my top three favorite authors. This is book three in a trilogy that I am obsessed with. Talk about a book hangover! A lighthearted and steamy read about a summer romance that might just turn into something more.
  • After I Do: Taylor Jenkins Reid is another one of my favorite authors. This book was so relatable on so many levels. A book I think every married person should read. A thought-provoking exploration of marriage and the challenges that come with it, perfect for fans of “Me Before You.”
  • The Paradise Problem: This one is sitting on my nightstand waiting to be read. A tropical island setting, a forbidden romance, and a mystery that will keep you guessing until the very end.
  • The Silent Patient: I really enjoyed this book even though I feel like it’s pretty darn predictable. A psychological thriller with a twist you won’t see coming, this one will keep you on the edge of your seat.
  • Daisy Jones and The Six: If you haven’t seen the series yet, read the book first. Wait! Actually, LISTEN to the book first. This is one of my all-time favorite audio books with an unbelievable cast narrating this story set in the 1960s. A captivating story of fame, music, and the dark side of success, told in a unique documentary style.
  • The Unhoneymooners: Perfect summer read. A hilarious and suspenseful story about a fake honeymoon that turns all too real.
  • The Guest List: If you love Agatha Christie, then you will love Lucy Foley. A whodunit set on a remote island during a wedding weekend, full of secrets and shocking twists.
  • It Happened One Summer (Spicy!): This one is extremely spicy, be forewarned. A steamy romance with a suspenseful edge, perfect for those who like their beach reads with a little heat.
  • None of This Is True: One of my favorite thrillers I’ve read in some time. So twisty and turny, you have no idea what’s even happening. A gripping psychological thriller about obsession, betrayal, and the dark side of social media.
  • The Unmaking of June Farrow: If you loved Timeless, then you must read this book. A haunting mystery about a woman who unravels her family’s dark past while confronting her own demons.
  • The Heiress: This book gave me Evelyn Hugo vibes, in the best way possible. A historical thriller set in the Gilded Age, full of intrigue, romance, and danger.
  • One Italian Summer: This book has a really interesting storyline set in Italy. A poignant story of grief, love, and the power of family, set against the beautiful backdrop of the Amalfi Coast.
  • Book Lovers: Another Emily Henry book I really enjoyed. Just steer clear of her book, Beach Read. This one is so much better! A charming rom-com about a literary agent who finds love in the most unexpected place.
  • Nora Goes Off Script: Feels like a Nancy Meyers movie waiting to happen! A heartwarming story about a woman who finds her voice and her happily ever after.
  • Tom Lake: A nostalgic and bittersweet novel about family, first love, and the secrets we keep. I highly recommend the audio version of this book, as it’s narrated by Meryl Streep. Her narration alone makes the book an absolute treat.
  • Sylvia’s Second Act: If you love the Golden Girls and/or Sex And The City, then this book is for you. I found myself laughing out loud more than once and wish the book never ended. I didn’t love the ending, but the story itself is so delightful that I would read it again. A heartwarming story about a woman who rediscovers herself and finds love later in life.
  • Love and Other Words: This book is My Big Fat Greek Wedding meets The Notebook. Easily my favorite book so far of 2024. A beautifully written novel with all of your favorite tropes: childhood sweethearts, second chances, fated mates… All while tying in the power of words.
  • Better Than the Movies: This book is like every single Taylor Swift song rolled up into a happy little rom-com book that you will love. A sweet and funny YA romance that will make you swoon. Who doesn’t love a good fake relationship trope?
  • The Hotel Nantucket: A charming and heartwarming story about a group of misfits who come together to save a historic hotel.
  • Something Borrowed: A lighthearted and romantic comedy about a wedding gone wrong and the unexpected twists that follow. This is one of my all-time favorite movies too! Perfect for your poolside reads list.

Happy reading!

Turn on your JavaScript to view content

OTHER NEWS

41 minutes ago

UK weather: Huge temperature change of up to -22C as Brits grapple fierce winds today

41 minutes ago

Real Madrid target Alphonso Davies will see out final year of contract, says Bayern Munich chief

41 minutes ago

Maniac accused of killing 4 relatives, including 2 kids, inside NYC home left building with bloody face, claimed he was on ‘shrooms’: DA

41 minutes ago

Prince George's birthday: Fans reminisce over royal's cheeky younger years with adorable photos as the future King turns 11

41 minutes ago

Diego Maradona's iconic match-worn 1986 World Cup semi-final shirt is set to go up for auction - and is being valued at more than £900,000 after the Argentinian's 'Hand of God' jersey sold for £7.2m

41 minutes ago

The surprising time the first Aussies will be in action at the Olympic Games

41 minutes ago

Hundreds of migrants leave southern Mexico on foot in a new caravan headed for the US border

41 minutes ago

Labour told it will need to defeat ‘net-zero nimbys’ to decarbonise Britain

41 minutes ago

Federal Government launching campaign preventing elder abuse

41 minutes ago

'I practiced with Rory McIlroy ahead of The Open and I've never seen anything like it'

41 minutes ago

Phillies Rookie Plays Stopper

41 minutes ago

Business diary: Events coming up

41 minutes ago

Manchester United outline their plans for Fiorentina’s Sofyan Amrabat

41 minutes ago

Amphibious cars take to the Thames for Traditional Boat Festival

41 minutes ago

Bangladesh’s top court scraps job quotas that sparked mass protests with 114 deaths

41 minutes ago

Rangers struck gold with Beale signing who's worth more than Barron

41 minutes ago

Adam Levine and Behati Prinsloo throw anniversary party in Mexico

41 minutes ago

Prince George's godmother reveals her birthday tradition with the young royal inspired by Princess Diana - but admits it's hassle for William

41 minutes ago

‘20 Days In Mariupol’ Secures Double Grierson Nomination

41 minutes ago

Ryanair shares tumble 12% as budget airline reports 46% fall in quarterly profit, sees lower fares

41 minutes ago

Civilians in Sudan endure 15 months of 'indiscriminate and widespread' violence: Humanitarian report

41 minutes ago

ITV Sports presenter Laura Woods expecting baby with Love Island star

41 minutes ago

Scott Robertson: All Blacks San Diego Test shows how ‘healthy’ rugby is in the USA

41 minutes ago

Liverpool target Brazilian defender as Van Dijk exit accelerates and Slot pleas fall on deaf ears

41 minutes ago

Actor Rob Delaney says 'there's so much money' in UK as he calls for 'Robin Hood-style' taxes

41 minutes ago

Opening of Parliament | Ramaphosa to respond to debate

41 minutes ago

Melanie Sykes hits out at BBC in sweary rant

41 minutes ago

Bangladesh court scraps most job quotas that sparked deadly protests

41 minutes ago

Video: Aussie men in their 30s reveal exactly how much they have in savings (and it's less than you'd expect)

41 minutes ago

Video: Mum-of-three, 24, accused of running down and killing young mother in her SUV outside a Daisy Hill, Brisbane daycare centre in alleged hit-and-run murder

41 minutes ago

McLaren boss never doubted Norris as a team player

41 minutes ago

Allen’s lollies brings back an Aussie favourite with six new killer flavours

41 minutes ago

How To Replace the Battery Terminals in Your Car

41 minutes ago

Five things from the Dana Open, where Chanettee Wannasaen prevailed and the Sohleim Cup captain was low American

41 minutes ago

Rafael Nadal 'not comfortable' but glad to avoid injury ahead of Paris Olympics

41 minutes ago

NASCAR Cup Indianapolis: Kyle Larson wins drama-filled Brickyard 400

41 minutes ago

Struggling Australians turn to Buy Now Pay Later services to pay for essentials

41 minutes ago

Thousands protest against mass tourism in Mallorca

41 minutes ago

Jack Grealish is 'STILL on edge after £1m raid on his £5.6m home eight months ago' - as Man City star 'worries thieves will never be caught' with Police still yet to make an arrest

41 minutes ago

How Aussie cricket star who hasn't played footy for SIX YEARS won an AFL contract